Javascript DHTML Drop Down Menu Powered by
PUBLIC DISCLOSURE NOTICE - ESMF SRWSP  |  PUBLIC DISCLOSURE NOTICE - RPF SRWSP  |  Operational Documents  |  The state of Rural and Small Towns Water Services in Ghana (Fact Sheets)  |  COUNTDOWN - 2014 GLOBAL HANDWASHING DAY  |   PROJECT : 'Mobile Sanitation Services that Last - Sanitation Agency   |  SMARTerWASH Monitoring of Rural Water and a Community Water and Public Private Partnership   |  RURAL WASH BULLETIN - VOLUME 2  |  COUNTDOWN - 2014 GLOBAL HANDWASHING DAY  |  CWSA Call For Strategic Partnership With Corporate Bodies   |  Challenges In The Implementation Of The National Community Water And Sanitation Programme (NCWSP)  |  Hygiene Promotion  |  
info on water quality issues
info on hygiene promotion
the profile of CWSA
to send a quick feedback
REGIONAL PROFILES     Northern Region
Ashanti Region
Brong-Ahafo Region
Central Region
Eastern Region
Greater Accra Region
Northern Region
Upper East Region
Upper West Region
Volta Region
Western Region



Physical Features

The Northern Region, which occupies an area of about 70,383 square kilometers, is the largest region in Ghana in terms of land area. It shares boundaries with the Upper East and the Upper West Regions to the North, the Brong Ahafo and the Volta Regions to the south, and two neighbouring countries, the Republic of Togo to the east, and La Cote d’Ivoire to the west.


The land is mostly low lying except in the north-eastern corner where we have the Gamabaga escarpment and also along the western corridor. The region is drained by the Black and White Volta and their tributaries, Rivers Nasia, Dakar, etc.


Climate and Vegetation

The climate of the region is relatively dry, with a single rainy season that begins in May and ends in October. The amount of rainfall recorded annually varies between 750 mm and 1050 mm. The dry season starts in November and ends in March/ April with maximum temperatures occurring towards the end of the dry season (March – April) and minimum temperatures in December and January.


The main vegetation is classified as vast areas of grassland, interspersed with guinea savannah woodland, characterised by drought-resistant trees such as acacia, baobab, shea nut, dawadawa, mango, neem, etc.


Demographic Characteristics

The population of the region is 1,820,806 (i.e. 2000 census) representing 9.6% of the country’s population. This translates into a growth rate of 2.8 % over the 1984 population of 1,162,645. This rate of growth is much lower than that of 3.4% recorded between 1970 and 1984.


The World Fertility Survey estimated the total fertility rate (TFR) of the region at 7.9 in 1979/1980. The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) of 1993 and 1998 also estimated the Regional TFR at 7.4 (1990) and 7.0 (1995), suggesting a relatively little decreasing fertility over the period of 4.9, which is significantly lower than the picture presented by the DHS figures, this may be a reflection of fertility reducing programmes in the past decade.



The Region is divided into 18 political administrative areas or Districts; namely:

  1. Bole District
  2. Bunkpurugu-Yunyoo District
  3. Central Gonja District
  4. East Gonja District
  5. East Mamprusi District
  6. Gushiegu District
  7. Karaga District
  8. Nanumba North District
  9. Nanumba South District
  10. Saboba/Chereponi District
  11. Savelugu/Nanton District
  12. Sawla-Tuna-Kalba District
  13. Tolon Kumbungu District
  14. West Gonja District
  15. West Mamprusi District
  16. Yendi District
  17. Zabzugu/Tatale District
  18. Tamale Metropolitan Assembly


The CWSA operates in 17 out of the 18 Districts as we have not had any serious activity in Tamale Rural.



The CWSA has a number of stakeholders/collaborators, both Government and non-Government entities.


Some of the public sector entities include;

  • The Ghana Health Service (GHS)
  • The Ghana Education Service (GES)
  • The Local Authorities (District Assemblies)
  • Etc.


The non-Government (NGOs) entities would include;

  • World Vision Ghana
  • Church of Christ
  • New Energy
  • Opportunities Industrialisation Centre (OIC)
  • Adventist Development and Relief Agency (ADRA)
  • Etc.
Privacy Statement  |   Staff Login  |  Staff Mail  |  Downloads  |  Contact Us

© Community Water & Sanitation Agency 2009  -  2019. Powered by: Dothouse Company Ltd.